New Jersey implements tough new law regarding car seats, effective September 1, 2015. This new significantly changes the requirements for children in cars. Previously, New Jersey required only that children under 8 needed to be in a car seat and left it to parents to determine what type of car seat as appropriate. Now, there are more specific requirements based on age, height, and weight that must be followed. This new law also empowers police to issue tickets ranging from $50 to $75 to motorists for violations. Please see below for a helpful guide to make sure your child is in the proper seat and that you are in compliance with this new law:
- Under 2 Years/Under 30 lbs – Rear-facing seat with a 5-point harness required.
- 2 Years – 4 Years/Under 40 lbs – Rear or forward-facing seat with 5-point harness required.
- 4 Years – 8 Years – Children must remain in a car seat or a booster seat in the back seat of a vehicle until they are at least 8 years old or reach a height of 57 inches.
- 8 Years and Over – A child over 8 years of age may sit in a regular seat and utilize a standard seat belt. While New Jersey law does not specify when a child may move to the front seat of a vehicle, the Federal Center for Disease Control and Prevention recommend children not sit in the front seat of a vehicle until 12 years of age.
For more information, please see the original article by Kelly Heyboer of NJ Advance Media: Click Here to Learn More.