How Does the Workers’ Compensation System Work in New Jersey?

Slip and Fall

If you suffer an injury on the job in New Jersey, you may be able to collect workers’ compensation benefits (also known as workman’s compensation benefits). Workers’ compensation is a “no-fault” insurance program that your employer carries. But how does the workers’ compensation system work in New Jersey?

If you suffer an injury on the job, it is important to understand the workers’ compensation process in New Jersey. The main goal is to provide benefits to employees who suffer an injury on the job, without requiring them to prove fault or establish liability. This helps the injured worker receive the benefits they deserve, but it also protects the employer from costly litigation.

Workers’ Compensation in New Jersey

To collect workers’ compensation benefits after an on-the-job accident, you must notify your employer as soon as possible. This begins the workers’ compensation process. The longer you wait to notify your employer, the harder it is to collect benefits.

Your employer will then file a First Report of Injury with the State of New Jersey. Your employer’s insurance company will then evaluate the claim to determine if it’s eligible for workers’ compensation under the law.

If your claim is accepted, then you will be directed to an authorized medical provider for treatment. NJ workers’ compensation law states that the employer and/or their insurance company can select the doctor that will treat you for your work-related injuries.

As you go through the workers’ compensation process, you will receive benefits for your injuries, as well as lost time from work. If your time out of work extends beyond 7 days, you will receive temporary disability benefits during your rehabilitation. These benefits are at a rate of 70% of your average weekly wage, not to exceed the maximum rate set by the State.

How Long Can You Collect Workers’ Compensation Benefits in New Jersey?

Many injured workers want to know how long they can stay on workers’ compensation in New Jersey. The law is very specific as to how long you can collect benefits.

  • Temporary total disability – maximum of 400.0 weeks
  • Permanent total disability – potentially for life
  • Permanent partial disability – maximum of 600.0 weeks (depending on the injury).

In general, however, most injured workers receive benefits until they are fully recovered. If you reach maximum medical improvement, your benefits may change from temporary disability to permanent disability.

In New Jersey, certain injuries are considered to be scheduled losses. This means that you’ll be paid for a set number of weeks, depending on the type and severity of the injury. For example, if you lost 50%of the use of an arm, you would receive 50% of the scheduled amount for a total loss. A total loss of an arm is equal to 330.0 weeks, so a 50% loss means that you would be paid for up to 165.0 weeks.

Call Our New Jersey Workers’ Compensation Attorneys

The workers’ compensation process is complex and often requires the services of an experienced attorney. For over 37 years, Rosner Law Offices, P.C. has helped injured workers throughout New Jersey. This South Jersey workers’ compensation law firm is here to help you after you suffer a work-related injury.

To learn more about Rosner Law Offices, P.C., or to discuss how our attorneys can help your case, call or text us today at (856) 692-6500 or contact us online. We want to hear from you and can help you schedule a free consultation.

Scroll to Top