If you have been injured, learn about your
rights. We're Available 24/7
311 West Landis Avenue, Vineland, NJ 08360

Get A Free Consultation Today! 856-692-6500

The Drones Are Coming! The Drones Are Coming!

How Can We Help You

The Drones Are Coming! The Drones Are Coming!

Drones Are Coming!

Got a new drone this Christmas?  Before taking it out of the box and taking off, take a few minutes to check out associate Jacquelyn Matchett’s article summarizing the FAA’s new drone regulations or you could wind up permanently grounded…

Drones are the newest trend for young and old alike, but there are certain rules that must be followed in order to ensure a safe time that does not result in legal action, including registering your drone (details below). The Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) said operators who fly a drone near a manned aircraft could face fines up to $25,000 and criminal charges. In order to avoid fines and legal issue, follow these rules:

  • Do not fly above 400 feet
  • Do not fly near people or stadiums
  • Do not fly within five miles of an airport
  • Do not let the drone out of your sight
  • Do not interfere with manned aircraft
  • Do not fly a drone that weighs more than 55 pounds

Also, this December the FAA announced rules for registering drones in the United States which weigh between 0.55 pounds and 55 pounds. Registration officially began on December 21, 2015and if you already have a drone, you have until February 19, 2015 to register. If you buy a drone after December 21, 2015 though, you need to register before your first flight. If you register within the first 30 days (by January 20th), it’s free. The registration details are listed below:

  1. Registration is mandatory in the United States.
  2. If you already own a drone, you have until February 19, 2016, to register; but if you register in these first 30 days (by January 20) it’s free.
  3. If you buy your drone after December 21, you must register before your first flight; but again, if you register in the first 30 days it’s free.
  4. Users must be at least 13 to register online.
  5. The registration fee is $5, but registration will be free until January 20th. It is good for three years.
  6. Right now you have to register directly through the FAA. They will release an API in the spring (they’re targeting April) that the FAA will immediately integrate into the Solo app. Until then you will have to go to the FAA to register.
  7. All the information you need provide is your name, home address, e-mail address and the make and model of your drone. This generates a “proof of ownership,” including a Unique Number, which you must mark on your drone in a place you don’t need a tool to access. You’ll be able to use the serial number of your drone (found in Solo’s battery compartment) and avoid marking up your Solo.
  8. This registration process only applies to hobby and recreational use. Business use rules still forthcoming.

Make sure to register your drone, read the instructions, and watch a safety video (link below) before you use it. This will help ensure your safety, those around you, and the longevity of the drone.

Related Links

Article by Jacquelyn Matchett, Esq.
Article by Jacquelyn Matchett, Esq.
Get a Free Consultation

Recent ArticlesOur Latest News Blog

Follow These Safety Tips for Rural Driving in New Jersey

In New Jersey, drivers need to have the skills and…Read More[+]

Recovering Compensation After a New Jersey Parking Lot Accident

The majority of people fail to realize how often parking…Read More[+]

What Should I Do After a Construction Zone Accident in New Jersey?

Construction zones are often busy and dangerous. For example, lanes…Read More[+]

Who Is at Fault in a Rear End Car Collision in New Jersey?

A rear end car collision is one of the most…Read More[+]

Determining Liability After a Pedestrian Accident in New Jersey

Due to a rise in distracted driving, pedestrians are at…Read More[+]